Accountability Courts


Accountability Courts established under the National Accountability Bureau Ordinance, 1999. At   present 21Accountability Courts are working on following stations:


The Accountability Courts have been established for speedy disposal of cases involving corruption   and corrupt practices, abuse of power, misappropriation property, kick backs, commission and formatter connected and ancillary or incidental   thereto.

The very purpose of   constitution of these Courts is to adjudicate cases of corrupt officials/persons   and to recover outstanding amounts from those persons who have committed default  in the repayment of amounts of banks, financial institution, Government and  other agencies. The Courts are successfully achieving the objectives of National Accountability Ordinance, 1999 (XVII of 1999) by convicting the corrupt officials/persons and recovering considerable amounts which they had misappropriated, etc, and   imposing as fines.


Section 5(g) of the National Accountability Bureau Ordinance, 1999 stipulates that a Judge of Accountability Court shall   be appointed by the President of Pakistan, in consultation with the Chief   Justice of the High Court concerned, and shall hold office for a period of three   years.Section 5(h) ibid provides that the Judge of the Accountability Court shall be a serving District and Session Judge qualified to be   appointed as Judge of the High Court. These Judges are appointed on   deputation.


Services of Civil Judge/Senior   Civil Judge are borrowed from Provincial Judiciary on deputation basis for a period of three years, Secretary, Law, Justice and Parliamentary Affairs is the appointing authority.   


Read more